Posted in Professional Practice Year 2

My Logo Design

My Logo IdeasAfter my research into logos, I decided to trial out various logos that I felt would be successful at achieving my intention for a simple and effective logo.

I was really inspired by the basic camera imagery in some of the logos in my research so I used Photoshop to create one that I felt would be effective to my logo. I made the image black and white to stick to the monotone theme that I felt would make my logo more sophisticated.

I wanted my name to be the largest component of my logo to give the audience an immediate indication as to who I am. With the imagery of a camera being added to my logo making my occupation clear, I felt that the word ‘photography’ didn’t necessarily need to be a dominant aspect of the logo.

I experimented with calligraphic and modern fonts to try and portray my character within my logo. The logo is often the first thing to grab someone’s attention when looking for a specific job to be completed, so I wanted mine to give a feel of my nature immediately.

I chose to go with the more modern font – I didn’t want people to think that my work was going to be all about feminine subjects and I felt gave quite a naïve feel to my logo. The modern logo added a more contemporary finish to my logo which is what I would say is the style of my work – contemporary documentary photography.

I created two potential final logo designs – one curved one straight. I feel that the curved one doesn’t look as professional. Although eye-catching and aesthetically interesting I feel that it gives the wrong impression about me as a photographer. My themes are always quite serious and controversial, quite bold and in your face, which I felt was more fitting with the dominant and clinical presence of the straight logo.

I kept the whole logo in black and white to make it clear and able to use as a watermark on my images. I also feel it looks more professional and clean this way.

Now that I had an image for my ‘brand’, I replaced my existing logo on my website and other online presences to the new logo, giving my practice a sense of solidarity and professionalism.

website 2

Leave a Reply

